What It Feels Like to be an “Introvert”

introverttt

I remember when I learned about introversion and extroversion in my college psych class, and it felt like a wave of relief to me. Growing up in the U.S. is basically like living in the extroversion olympics (events include: speed friending, joking 101, conversation starters on crack, and how fast you can fill a moment of silence). What’s up with that?

It’s not just the education system that celebrates these social butterflies, but the trend continues well into adulthood and the workplace. I’ve noticed the celebratory atmosphere that surrounds people who can easily network, say every opinion they have in meetings, and spend 45 minutes talking about every minute detail of their weekend is still ever-present .

I don’t mean to hate on extroverts, but it’s necessary to celebrate the quiet and calculated introverts that make up 50% of our society.

So what exactly is does it feel like to be an introvert? Obviously these are all based on my own opinions.

I like being around people, but it’s also really draining

introvert

Just because I consider myself an introvert doesn’t mean I hate people. I actually have quite a few close friends that I really enjoy spending time with *call CNN*. I like going to parties with lots of people, but afterwards I definitely need some alone time.

I realllyyyyy enjoy my alone time

netflix

 

 

Reading, writing, tumbling, watching 10 hours of Netflix, whatever the alone activity is I really enjoy doing it on my own.

All I need is me, myself, and I

pepsi

I-N-D-E-P-E-N-D-E-N-T, do you know what that means?! I think one of the best things about being an introvert is the fierce independence that goes along with it. I know a lot of people who need to do things with other people all. the. time. And these extroverts usually find things like seeing a movie alone, or eating by yourself really daunting – but not I!

Introverts need less stimulation than extroverts 

overwhelmed

So this is one of the reasons introverts find parties, networking events, or big groups draining. Because they need less stimulation than extroverts. So when your at a place/event with lots of shit going on, it’s kind of overwhelming, and you’ll definitely need some quality internet alone time post-event.

2 thoughts on “What It Feels Like to be an “Introvert”

Leave a Reply

