Thoughts & Feelings: Back-to-School Nostalgia

With back to school season in full swing, I’m left with an intense feeling of nostalgia. Is it just me, or is everyone else also victim to this wave of memories of bonfires, back to school shopping, and high school football games?

Childhood

Screen Shot 2015-08-25 at 10.10.53 AM

I had a ridiculously good childhood *thanks parents.* Every year, the day before school started: Kayla, my dad, and I would have our Ultimate Day of Fun. Which included mini golf, go-karts, and shopping. Does it get better than that? I remember being super excited to go back to school every year *nerd alert.* Because after a long summer, school meant seeing all of my friends consistently, art classes, and a new teacher (I never got placed with the teacher I wanted, forever bitter about that).

Teen Years 

Screen Shot 2015-08-25 at 10.12.25 AM

With the start of high school, our Ultimate Day of Fun was discontinued because of fall sports which always started a few weeks before the actual school year. I’ve always loved learning, and not to toot my own horn, but I was a ridiculously good student *toot*toot.* A new year meant new teachers, new subjects, but old friends (thanks AP bubble).

College Time

Screen Shot 2015-08-25 at 10.13.38 AM

I went to school in a small Wisconsin town. I absolutely loved it there! My boyfriend/BFF was there, I was super involved on campus, and I loved both of my majors (advertising & psych). Going back to school each year kind of reaffirmed my independence away from home. It’s my second fall not returning to campus, and I’m gunna be real with you, it still feels weird.

Do you have any fun fall memories?

One thought on “Thoughts & Feelings: Back-to-School Nostalgia

Leave a Reply

