Thoughts & Feelings: Anxiety

anxiety

I don’t know if this is considered “too personal” for an internet post, maybe this better belongs in a secret real-life journal that I can keep tucked away in a safe drawer, but I think a lot of people feel this way. And who doesn’t like a healthy dose of honesty?

I’ve had a lot of experience with anxiety in my life. I don’t know if it’s some predisposition I have, or if my anxious feelings are a result of the driven/perfectionist/all-or-nothing culture the US seems to radiate. Or maybe I’m simply a bit of a worry wart. Regardless, I wanted to share what some of my anxious feelings actually feel like to me.

1. A bit of a pessimist 

pessimist

I don’t like admitting that I see the glass half empty, but it’s true. I often find myself expecting the worst, and worrying about the thousands of ways everything can go wrong. When I have these feelings I do have to consciously remind myself to think more like an optimist, and imagine some positive outcomes as well (those exist right?).

2. Constant doubt

doubt

Did I lock the door? Did I pay my bill? Did I put my phone/wallet/keys back in my purse? I have these almost crushing feelings of doubt a lot. Thankfully they’re usually about really minuscule things, because I’m super confident about my intelligence, skills, relationships, and big life choices.

3. Nerve nerve about the new

nerve

Meeting new people, starting a new job, adopting a new pet. I think a lot of people can relate to this point, because new experiences are kind of naturally fear-inducing. When I feel really nervous about something new I always try to bring it back in to perspective and remind myself of the grand scheme of things. New things are kinda scary, but mostly really exciting.

I know a lot of people deal with these feelings. While life can seem a little overwhelming at times I’m going to try and take some deep breaths and dive right in.

Leave a Reply

