The Truth Behind Cohabiting

logibear

The boyfriend and I have been together for over 6 years now, WOAH! We’re going on year two of living together, but only a few months into living together sans roomies. When you live with your significant other you learn a lot about them: the good the bad, and the ugly. I wanted to share some little lessons I’ve learned from living with my main squeeze.

You will have really dumb disagreements

Recent arguments include: who fills the britta pitcher up more often, where we should put a picture on our collage wall, and if stevia is better than sweet and low. Remember to compromise, and play fair. One person can’t be the one who makes all the sacrifices. You both gotta win, and you both gotta lose #dealwithit.

Separation of chores comes kind of naturally

I make the bed, he takes out the trash. We  have to try to stay away from the whole 1:1 chores ratio because it’s really easy to get into that which can lead to some pissy pants feelings. I just try to remember we’re both trying to take care of our home, and we each have a preference for which tasks to do. And not all chores are created equal.

Boys eat a lot

The boyfriend and I have started buying our groceries together. Holy sh*t can that boy eat! I’m still working on keeping my annoyance at bay when I realize he’s eaten all the deli meat. I guess you should try to remember different people need different amounts of food, and my 6’4″ 195 lbs boyfriends needs more food than me.

You don’t have to worry about one person leaving

This sentence carries a lot of weight. Living together means an even deeper level of commitment (1 year lease, am I right?). It also means you get to do the hang thing every night! Waking up next to your person is awesome, and no one ever has to leave to go back to their place.

Living together is really fun, and really different. But most of all, it’s really great.

Leave a Reply

