4 Feelings While Watching the Golden Globes

skinnyminis

Just an FYI, I have a lot of thoughts and feelings and opinions about a lot of things. This is my space to express said opinions. That being said, continue reading if you so desire to know about my thoughts on the Golden Globes.

1. Envy

jelly

Oh my god. That dress, those earrings, the makeup! Please gimme all of it, pleaseeee. I don’t know where in the world I would wear any of the MANY stunning gowns I saw the other night, but I know I want, nay, NEED them.

2. Disbelief

disbelief

How on earth is your arm the size of my index finger? I am not trying to body shame in any sense of the word, but I can tell you that these actresses (not actors), have all lost about 20 pounds in the last 5-10 years. Which would be cool if they needed to lose weight for health reasons, but they all look bony, malnourished, bobble heads. And they were just as beautiful as they are now.

3. Anger

anger

Why the f*ck do I support the entertainment industry? An industry that demands a woman’s weight remain as close to double digits as humanly possible? I don’t blame the women who are clearly victims of a thin-obsessed culture that is perpetuated by…well I don’t know who is behind it. You? Me? “The Man?” It’s clearly not one person, and I’m really hoping we, as an entire society of human beings, shift our beauty ideals away from starvation and towards healthy weights and behaviors.

4. Self-loathing

self hatred

This brings me to my final point. After watching a solid hour of red carpet coverage where women were praised for their tiny bodies, I couldn’t help but feel like my own 5’4″ 140 pound frame was inadequate. That I, a strong, bright, fit woman should dwindle my weight down to as much as humanly possible. It’s this feeling that worries me most. Also, these 21 year olds have more money now than I will ever have in my entire life on Earth… Cool. 

On a lighter note: S/O To Brie Larson and her very well deserved win for Room!

So as we can both derive from my feelings, I should probably stop watching Award Shows.

But, when are the Oscars…?

Leave a Reply

