Weekend Recap Vol. 20

IMG_6433

Hey homies! I know we’re a little ways past Monday (praise be!), but the long weekend threw off my normal recap posts. Since I’m doing the Whole 30 Challenge, I haven’t gone out at all (no alcohol + arctic Chicago temps = chill weekends).

IMG_6457

This chill time has lead to some serious cooking by the twin and I (okay let’s be real, fiance is still owning the whole cooking front, but I’ve definitely attempted). We’ve been having some weekend dinner parties, and last Saturday we had zoodles with a sloppy joe inspired meat sauce. You can find the recipe here.

IMG_6456

On Sunday, Logan and I ventured downtown to do a little Christmas present returning/shopping. Chicago residents, if you still haven’t been to the new(ish) Uniqlo downtown you should make a trip of it. They have a really cool Starbucks with a nice view of Michigan Ave, and really neat artwork on their top floor.

IMG_6449

On Monday morning some friends and I visited a local bread shop (I oogled at their pretzel croissants while sipping my herbal tea). It’s always so nice to venture outside the house on weekend mornings and catch up on life happenings with some of my favorite people.

IMG_6451

IMG_6450

Image (1)

 

Monday was MLK Jr. Day, which meant the four of us had the day off work! It was especially cool because all of the city’s museums were free for Illinois residents. We played tourists and checked out some of the new additions at the Art Institute of Chicago! I really loved the modern wing. Surrealism is my favorite genre of art, *fun fact* my grandpa was an amazing amateur surrealist painter.

Did you do anything special during your 3 day weekend?

Leave a Reply

