Whole 30 Results

Whole 30 Results

I did it! Yesterday was Day 30 of my Whole 30 challenge and I’m SO SO SO happy 🙂 It was definitely a challenge, but I would say that the benefits are worth the sacrifices you make. You can refer to my week recaps to read more about what I ate, and how I felt about it (Week 1Week 2Week 3Week 4).

The Good: My whole 30 experience was actually pretty chill. I didn’t have the sugar detox, I didn’t have major cravings, and I didn’t have any aches or pains from the dietary switch up. I did sleep relatively well (this has never been a big problem for me). My skin was good most of the time (except during my period), and my workouts were great! I also ate a larger variety of meat. I’m a total carnivore, but I usually shy away from high calorie meat, so eating tons of beef was A-okay with me.

The Bad: 4 weekends sans alcohol takes a bit of a toll on your social life. Sad but true. I’m 23, so what do you think most of my friends like to do on the weekends? Another thing, I think it was about half way through that I just completed hated eating anything. No food sounded good, and I had to force myself to eat so I wouldn’t have to deal with my hunger pains. I got over this during week 4.

The Ugly: There were a lot of aspects of this diet I disagreed with, but I made a commitment to follow the rules, so that’s what I did. I HATE how the entire Whole 30 site sounds like it’s shaming any non-plan food. Legumes, low fat dairy, and whole grains are not bad for you, and it really pissed me off that the site makes it seem like they are.

Results: I lost 4 pounds, 1.5″ off my hips, 1″ off my waist, and 1″ off each leg. I’m happy with these results, and even though it might be hard to tell in the photos, I’m smaller than I’ve ever been. All of my shorts are big on me!

The Future: I like this diet. I like how it made me feel, and look. For these reasons I’m going to stick it out and use Whole 30 as a baseline to my diet 80% of the time. I’m going to reintroduce legumes (hummus, peanut butter, and beans), dairy (as a treat), and alcohol on Friday & Saturdays (because social life, ya know?).

Do you have any questions about Whole 30? I’d be happy to answer them!

P.S. I did not get a tan, the lighting is just a bit different!

One thought on “Whole 30 Results

Leave a Reply

