5 Reasons I Love Millennials

I was born in 1992, which puts me smack dab in the middle of the Millennial generation. A lot of people have negative things to say about those born between 1980-2000, but I’m here to call BS. Call me self-absorbed #generationY, but I’m in love with my generation. And here’s why:

1. We’re the most educated generation…ever.

smart

Education is a privilege. This is a statement I’m well aware of, and completely agree with. Whether you want to blame the economic collapse, or the crazy competitive job market, my generation was essentially forced into higher education. But this shove towards more knowledge is a peak, not a pit of being a millennial. It was in college that I was informed about humanitarian issues, different walks of life, and the history we weren’t taught in high school. You can read more about life lessons I learned during university here.

2. We have a voice, and aren’t afraid to use it.

opinion

As you can probably tell from the sheer amount of blogs on WordPress, twenty-somethings have a lot of opinions and aren’t afraid to voice them. While some may chalk this up to narcissism, I wholeheartedly disagree. Speaking your mind is a powerful thing; it encourages confidence, knowledge, and change!

3. We care.

care

It’s because of the aforementioned points that I think my generation is among the most empathetic ones of all time. As a result of listening to other educated voices, we are exposed to the many problems of the world. No longer is a person only aware of issues surrounding them in their own homes, or schools, or towns. We have been given multiple platforms that serve to expose issues (both local and global), and we can do something about them.

4. We’re changing the world

change

Smart, inventive, and discontent with injustice. Young people are gaining powerful positions, and because they are educated and empathetic we can evoke change.

5. We care about experiences more than products

yolo

I read that department stores are worried because Millennials are spending their hard-earned cash on plane tickets, hotels, and concerts rather than an expensive pair of pants. I love that my generation seeks adventure and memories!

 

Leave a Reply

