J. Law’s Latest Body Comment: The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

JLaw

For those of you who don’t watch celebrity news like it’s your job, let me catch you up. Jennifer Lawrence recently said:

“Everybody says, ‘We love that there is somebody with a normal body!’ And I’m like, ‘I don’t feel like I have a normal body.’ I do Pilates every day. I eat, but I work out a lot more than a normal person. I think we’ve gotten so used to underweight that when you are a normal weight it’s like, ‘Oh, my God, she’s curvy.’ Which is crazy. “

After I read this statement, I had three emotions. Good, bad, and ugly. 

Good: FINALLY! An actress is speaking out about how her teeny tiny body should not be considered “normal.” While it’s important to talk about this growing concern, it’s more important to DO something about it. You know the saying: “actions speak louder than words” – yeah it’s true. We need more people in the spotlight and in powerful positions (looking at you media, directors, producers, etc.) to say f*** this unrealistic/unhealthy body standard.

Bad: After saying the above comment, J Law continued: “With a laugh, she added, “At least so I don’t feel like the fattest one.” Wait, what? Talk about 1 step forward, 2 steps backward. Her first comment about body image was so moving to me. I was like HELL YES let’s all agree most actresses’ bodies are not normal and unattainable for us average folk, but then she said this. What I take from this comment is that she doesn’t want to change the standards of women’s body type for normal women, she wants to change them so SHE doesn’t “feel like the fattest one.” Not cool. Especially since she’s impossibly thin already.

The Ugly: The body positive movement is nothing new at this point. If anything, it just seems like an easy way to get some positive publicity. Especially since these seemingly profound words are often empty promises. We all know  J Law will continue to go to pilates classes everyday, land leading roles, and have a low BMI. But how does her lack of follow through affect “normal” women? The majority of women do not have the luxury of working out everyday, and having a nutritionist prepare every meal. And when one of the most influential actresses’ of this decade deems her own size 2 body as “fat” what does that make me?

So what can we learn from the latest body positive sentiments spouted from the mouth of a celeb? We can learn to take these statements with a grain of salt. I’ll believe it when I see it.

Leave a Reply

